Press enter after choosing selection

Schools Choose Cheerleaders, Officers

Schools Choose Cheerleaders, Officers image
Parent Issue
Copyright Protected
Rights Held By
Donated by the Ann Arbor News. © The Ann Arbor News.
OCR Text

Junior, Senior Hi-Notes:
Schools Choose Cheerleaders, Officers
Students at Ann Arbor, St. Thomas and University High Schools and at Tappan and Slauson Junior High Schools have been busy since the start of school selecting cheerleaders and electing student council and class officers.
Also, the various schools have selected the following students to report their school's activities in this column:
Ann Arbor High, Carolyn Adams and Dorothy Vedder; St. Thomas High, Cathy Bjork and Carol McAuliffe; University High, Malinda Berry, replacing Jim Andrews; Tappan, Marty Buhr and Sue Goldberg; and Slauson, James Hoffmeyer and Cheryl White.
Ann Arbor High Staff
Activities at Ann Arbor high last week included a reception for the ninth grade class, a Purple and White scrimmage for holders of season tickets and students, and selection of a staff for the school's yearbook and paper.
Carol Sinn was chosen editor-in-chief. Members of her staff include Douglas Brown, art; Mike Fischer, photography; Lois Blair, senior editor; Marcia Pope, index; John Lipson, layout; and Charlotte Aupperle and Helen Moore, business.
The staff was busy this week starting work on the school's yearbook "Omega." All 12th graders have been asked to make appointments for their pictures by Oct. 1. The first issue of the "Optimist" was published Sept. 12.
Sally Odell was elected recording secretary of the Girls Athletic Council. Carol Rushton was elected hockey manager and Joanne Kleinschmidt, assistant manager.
Takes Oath Of Office
Two student assemblies have been held this week. At the first assembly on Wednesday new Student Council officers for 1958-59 took their oaths of office. A pep rally was held Thursday at Hollway Field.
The Student Council will sponsor a dance from 9:30 to 11 p.m. today following the Wayne game.
Members of the school's cheerleading section this year include Sharon Wild, captain; Becky Preketes, Phyllis Kadde, Judy Zahn, Carol Stienke, Sue Bigby, Carol Porter and Mary Palmer.
The first meeting of the Future Nurses Club will be held next Tuesday. All interested girls are invited to attend.
St. Thomas High School installed new Student Council and class officers at an assembly yesterday. Joseph Frick is the newly elected president. Other officers include, Peggy Clisham, vice-president; Peggy Phillips, secretary; and John Darr, treasurer.
New class presidents include Joseph Tramontin, senior class; Robert Hopp, junior class and Brent Shelton, Sophomore class.
The senior class was to sponsor a pep rally today in preparation for the St. Thomas - Redford St. Agatha football game Sunday at Hollway Field. A car caravan will leave St. Thomas playground for the game at 1:45 p.m. Sunday.
U-High Pep Club
The University High Pep Club, under the leadership of its president, Sue Waggoner, held its first meeting Wednesday. The club is planning to sell booster buttons and engraved ribbons. Members also are selling season bus tickets for out-of-town football games.
The Social Committee will sponsor a dance entitled "Wonerfu" following the U-High-Bentley JV football game tomorrow. The dance will be held in the school's recreation room under the chairmanship of Fred Ricker.
Tappan Junior High School held an installation assembly today to acquaint seventh graders and other new students with Student Council officers and representatives. New officers were sworn in.
Bill Newton is council president this year. Other officers include, Marty Buhr, Vice-president; Sue Goldberg, secretary, and Thomas Sanderson, treasurer.
Slauson Junior High School has elected its Student Council representatives. Judy Rogers will preside as chief justice this year.
Susan Offringa and Michael Parsons are seventh grade justices; Sue Latourette and Sandy Ingram are eighth grade justices; Jo and Jon March and Charles Laroe are ninth grade justices. Kenneth Genova and Alan Gitman will serve as alternates.

CHEERLEADERS PRACTICE: These cheerleaders at University High School demonstrated their skills at a student assembly Wednesday morning in the school's auditorium. They are (left to right) Sue Wagoner, Julie Fischer (captain), Sue Brown, Liz Early, Harriet Liang and Sue Gaynor. They'll provide moral support for Cub teams.