Press enter after choosing selection

AACT Honors Season's Best

AACT Honors Season's Best image
Parent Issue
Copyright Protected
Rights Held By
Donated by the Ann Arbor News. © The Ann Arbor News.
OCR Text

AACT Honors Season’s Best

Ann Arbor Civic Theatre (AACT) members honored what they consider the best of their 1975-76 season Saturday at the annual awards banquet at the Holiday Inn on Jackson Road.

"Arsenic and Old Lace” was named the best drama of the past season. Its director, Roger Wertenberger, also got the best set design award for the same show. Since Wertenberger wasn’t present, Runelda Medrano, the assistant director, received the awards.

The best musical award went to “Oklahoma.” Sharing the trophy were the musiitl director Dill Murrell and artistic director James Posante. Posante was also the choreographer.

William Cross was named best actor for his role as Henry Thoreau in "The Night Thoreau Spent In Jail.”

The winner of the best actress award went to Susan Morris for her portrayal of Martha Brewster in "Arsenic And Old Lace."

Cathe Wrightht received the best supporting actress for her role as Birdie Hubbard in “The Little Foxes."

The winner of the best supporting actor award was Ray Nieto, who played Will Parker in “Oklahoma."

Bettie Seeman got the award for the best costume design for her creations in “The Little Foxes."

Edgar Lesher received the John Rae Cameo Award for his portrayal of Bailey in "The Night Thoreau Spent In Jail."

The Winners

The Ann Arbor Civic Theatre award winners are from left (back row): Dill Murrell, James Posante, Cathe Wright, Ray Nieto and William Cross. In the front row, from left, are Runelda Mendrano, Bettie Seeman, Edgar Lesher and Susan Morris. (Photo by Fred Beutler).