Press enter after choosing selection

Kinney Is Nominated

Kinney Is Nominated image
Parent Issue
Public Domain
OCR Text

COLDMBUS, O., Maren 12. - The Grand Opera house was unnbla aalu Wednesday to give admiision io more than hali of those holding tickets and woariug badges with McKlnley'a pitur th(roon. It) was 10:15 wheu 3onator-leo Foraker called the oenrsntloQ rdar. At that time tha tag was roiriad wlth Ohio congressmon and other party leaders. Ex-Secretary Charles Foster had a seat near the presiding officor Aftei prayer by Bov. Mr. Lawrence Congressman J. M. Taylor, ohairman of the oommittee on resolutions, reported the platform which was greeced with frequent applause and adopted. Colonel W. G. Cooper of Mt. Vernon, ex-mem ber oí congress, was then introdr.ced and presented in an eloquent and stirring speeoh the names of Governor Asa S. Bushnell, Senator-elect J. B. Forakar, Congressman C. H. Gr.jsvenor and Hon. Marous A. Hanna for delegates at large from Ohio to the St. Louis conventioii. Instructed for McKinlcy. He offered tha following, -which was adopted : "Resolved, That Asa S. Bushnell, Joseph B. Foraker, Charles H. Grosvenoi and Marcus A. Hnnna be and they are hereby elected delegates at large from the state of Ohio to the Republican nationa] convention at St. Louis and they are inetructed by the Republicans of Ohio to vote for the nomination of William McKinley, Jr., for president of the United States." Hon. Robort M. Nevin of Dayton in a rousing McKinley speech presented the names of Dr. J. E. Lowes of Dayton, Senator Charles Fleischman of Cincinnatl, Ex-Senator John P. Green of Cleveland and Congressman John N. Taylor of New Lisbon for alternates at large. The rulos "wére suspended and the fonr were electec by acclaination. Congressman Charles H. Grósvenor presented the names of I. F Mack, editor of tne Sandusky Register, and Hon. Albert C. Douglas, Jr., of Chil licothe as candidates for electora at large. The rules were suspended and they wer noiuinated by acclamation. State Offlcers Nominated. The roll of eighty-eighc countlea wa called for nominations for state offices. The names of Charles Kinney of Scioto General A. T. WickofT of Franklïn, anc E. W. Doty of Cuyahoga were presented for the nomination for secretary of state The ballot resulted: Doty, 206; Kinney 427; Wickoff, ai7. Necessary to a choice 426. Kinney's nomination was made unaniuious. Marshall J. Williams ol Fayette, the inoumbsnt, was renominatec lor suprema judga by acclanation under a suspension of the rules. The hottest contest of the convention was for ♦he nomination for tood and dairy oom missioner for which the following names were presented: Joseph E. Blackburn o Belmont, Samuel C. Wheeler of Erie Henry Becker of Fr tnklin, Frederick B McNeal of Miami, Frank A. Derthick o Portage, E. B. Beverstock of Wood. The ballor, resulted as follows: Blackburn 268, Wheeler 33, Becker 53, McNeil 33] Derthick 138, Beverstock 52. Necessary to choice 426; no nomination. Nouiinated on Second Ballot, The second ballot resulted as follows Blackburn 503á, McNeal !21, Derthick 23. Necossary to choleo 426. After the ennouncement of the vote the nomination of Blackburn was mide unanimous. The Wholesale grocers and food manufactur ers made tho fight against Dr. McNeal the incumbent, and defeated him after a hard fight with the grangor element. For the nomination for mem ber of the board o public works the following names wer presented: James P. Smich of Auglaize William C. Grant of Drake, John W Stillwell of Miami, Joseph T. Robinson of Séneca, Frank A Hoffman of Van Wert. The ballot resulted: Smith, 64 Grant, 63; Stillwell, 18) Robinson, % Hoffman, 498. Necessary to choice 426 After the announcement of the vote the nomination of Hoffman was made unani jnous and the eonvention adjourned sine die.


Ann Arbor Argus
Old News