Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, October 24, 1934: Fifty-sixth Annual Choral Union Concert Series -- Rosa Ponselle

UMS Concert Program, October 24, 1934: Fifty-sixth Annual
Choral Union Concert Series -- Rosa Ponselle image UMS Concert Program, October 24, 1934: Fifty-sixth Annual
Choral Union Concert Series -- Rosa Ponselle image
Day
24
Month
October
Year
1934
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: 1934-1935
Concert: First
Complete Series: 2224
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
CHARLES A. SINK, PRESIDENT EAKL, V. MOORE, MUSICAL DIRECTOR
First Concert 1934-193S Complete Series 2224
Fifty-Sixth Annual
Choral Union Concert Series
Rosa Ponselle, Soprano
Stuart Ross, Accompanist
Wednesday Evening, October 24, 1934, at 8:15 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Aria, "Divinites du Styx" ("Alceste") .... Christoph Gluck
Rosa Ponselle
Traume............. Wagner
Vergebliches Standchen.......... Brahms
Morgen............. Strauss
Der Erlkonig............ Schubert
Miss Ponselle
Theme and Variations.......Corelli-Tartini-Ross
Stuart Ross
Aria, "Merce Dilleto Amiche" ("I Vespri Siciliani") .... Verdi
Miss Ponselle
Malaguena............Lecuona
Mr. Ross
A l'Aime............Fontenailles
Pastoral.............Veracini
Dedication...........R. Schumann
The Doll's Cradle Song.........Moussoegsky
Song of the Open...........La Forge
Miss Ponselle
The Steimvay Piano and the Skinner Organ are the official concert instruments oj the University Musical Society
ARS LONGA VITA BREVIS
Coming Musical Events
Choral Union Concerts
8:15 p.m.
Thursday, November 1 .... Lawrence Tibbett, Baritone
Monday, November 19 . . Don Cossack Russian Male Chorus
Serge Jaroff, Conductor
Monday, December 3.....Jozef Szigeti, Violinist
Tuesday, December 11 . . . Boston Symphony Orchestra Serge Koussevitzky, Conductor
Friday, January 25......Lotte Lehmann, Soprano
Tuesday, February 12......Jose Iturbi, Pianist
Wednesday, February 20.....Gordon String Quartet
Monday, March 4......Artur Schnabel, Pianist
Thursday, March 28 . . . Cleveland Symphony Orchestra Artur Rodzinski, Conductor
Season Tickets, $5.00, $7.00, $8.50, $10.00. Single Concerts, $1.00, $1.50, $2.00.
Faculty Concerts
Complimentary at 8:15 p.m.
Wednesday, November 7
Soloists: Maud Okkelberg, Joseph Brinkman, Pianists;
Arthur Hackett, Tenor; Wassily Besekirsky, Violinist;
Hanns Pick, Violoncellist Wednesday, November 28 Tuesday, December 18, "The Messiah" Wednesday, January 16
University Symphony Orchestra
Complimentary at 4:15 p.m.
Sunday, October 28
Soloist: Mabel Ross Ri-iead, Pianist Sunday, November 25 Sunday, January 27
Organ Recital Series
Complimentary at 4:15 p.m.
Wednesday, October 31......E. William Doty
Wednesday, November 14......Parvin Titus
Notice: The right is reserved to make such changes in the dates and artists announced as necessity may require. While wide and prompt publicity is given to dates thus changed, to avoid inconvenience it is suggested that, so far as possible, out-of-town guests confirm the dates in advance.

Download PDF