Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, November 6, 1935: Fifty-seventh Annual Choral Union Concert Series -- Sergei Rachmaninoff

UMS Concert Program, November 6, 1935: Fifty-seventh Annual Choral Union Concert Series -- Sergei Rachmaninoff image UMS Concert Program, November 6, 1935: Fifty-seventh Annual Choral Union Concert Series -- Sergei Rachmaninoff image
Day
6
Month
November
Year
1935
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: 1935-1936
Concert: Second
Complete Series: 2306
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
CHARLES A. SINK, PRESIDENT EARL V. MOORE, MUSICAL DIRECTOR
Second Concert 1935-1936 Complete Series 2306
Fifty-Seventh Annual
Choral Union Concert Series
SERGEI RACHMANINOFF, Pianist
Wednesday, November 6, 1935, at 8:15 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Thirty-Two Variations in C minor.......Beethoven
Three Sonatas...........Scarlatti
Sonata in B minor, Op. 58...........Chopin
Allegro Maestoso Scherzo Largo Finale
INTERMISSION
a) Poeme 1 QmTAmw
b) Elude ;............ SCRIABIN
Fairy Tale..............Medtner
Scherzo............Borodin
Barcarolle ........... Rubinstein
ftu,de, 1.........Rachmaninoff
6) Prelude )
Etude--Caprice .......... Dohnanyi
The Steinway Piano and the Skinner Organ are the official concert instruments of the University Musical Society
ARS LONGA VITA BREVIS
Coming Musical Events
HILL AUDITORIUM
Choral Union Concerts
8:15 p.m.
Monday, November 11 . . . Don Cossack Russian Chorus Serge Jaroff, Conductor
Tuesday, December 3......Fritz Kreisler, Violinist
Wednesday, December 11. . . Boston Symphony Orchestra
Serge Koussevitzky, Conductor
Tuesday, January 14 . . . .St. Louis Symphony Orchestra Vladimir Golschmann, Conductor
Monday, January 20 . . . . The Kolisch String Quartet Rudolph Kolisch, First Violinist Eugene Lehner, Viola
Felix Khuner, Second Violinist Benar Heifetz, Violoncellist
Friday, January 24 .... Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Bernardino Molinari, Guest Conductor
Monday, February 17 . . . . John Charles Thomas, Baritone Monday, March 16....... Myra Hess, Pianist
Forty-third Annual May Festival
May 13, 14, IS, 16. Four evening and two afternoon concerts. ¦¦ .
Faculty Concert Series
Complimentary at 4:15
Sunday, November 17. . . . . . Faculty Concert Tuesday, December 17, 8:15 p.m., "The Messiah" . . . Handel
Sunday, January 26 . . University Symphony Orchestra
Earl V. Moore, Conductor
Sunday, February 23.......Faculty Concert
Sunday, March 8 . . . . University Symphony Orchestra Sunday, April 5........Faculty Concert
Organ Recital Series
Complimentary at 4:15
Sunday, November 24 ....:.. Palmer Christian . Sunday, December 1.......Palmer Christian
Notice: The right is reserved to make such changes in the dates and artists announced as necessity may require. While wide and prompt publicity is given to dates thus changed, to avoid inconvenience it is suggested that, so far as possible, out-of-town guests confirm the dates in advance.

Download PDF