Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, May 11, 1963: Seventieth Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra

UMS Concert Program, May 11, 1963: Seventieth Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image UMS Concert Program, May 11, 1963: Seventieth Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image
Day
11
Month
May
Year
1963
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: Eighty-fourth
Concert: Third
Complete Series: 3388
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

1962 Eighty-fourth Season 1963
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Charles A. Sink, President Gail W. Rector, Executive Director Lester McCoy, Conductor
Third Concert Complete Series 3388
Seventieth Annual
MAY FESTIVAL
THE PHILADELPHIA ORCHESTRA WILLIAM SMITH, Assistant Conductor
SOLOISTS
ANTHONY GIGLIOTTI, Clarinetist BERNARD GARFIELD, Bassoonist
Saturday Afternoon, May 11, 1963, at 2:30 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Variations on a Theme by Haydn, Op. 56a.....Brahms
Andante
Poco piii animato
Piu vivace
Con moto
Andante con moto
Vivace
Vivace
Grazioso
Presto non troppo
Finale: andante
Duet-Concertante for Clarinet and Bassoon,
with Harp and Strings....... . . Strauss
Anthony Gigliotti and Bernard Garfield
INTERMISSION
Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14A.......Berlioz
Largo; allegro agitato e appassionato assai Valse: allegro non troppo Adagio Allegretto non troppo
Larghetto; allegro assai; allegro
Columbia Records
The Steinway is the official piano of the University Musical Society. The Baldwin Piano is the official piano of the Philadelphia Orchestra.
ARS LONGA VITA BREVIS
1963 UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY PRESENTATIONS 1964
All presentations are at 8:30 p.m. unless otherwise noted.
Choral Union Series
New York Philharmonic ....
Gyorgy Sandor, Pianist.....
Jerome Hines, Bass......
Bulgarian National Ensemble The Cleveland Orchestra .... Don Giovanni (New York City Opera Co.) Philharmonia Hungarica ....
Tossy Spivakovsky, Violin Soloist Mazowsze Dance Company (from Poland) Teresa Berganza, Coloratura mezzo-soprano Chicago Opera Ballet .....
?Season Tickets: $24.00--$20.00--$17.00--$14.00--$12.00
Wednesday, September 11
Tuesday, September 24
Monday, October 7
Friday, October 18
Thursday, November 7
Sunday, November 17
Monday, January 20
Thursday, January 30 Wednesday, February 26 Friday, March 13
Extra Series
Tosca (Goldovsky Opera Theater) Ballet Folklorico of Mexico Madama Butterfly (New York City
Opera Co.)......
Vienna Symphony Orchestra . Anna Moffo, Soprano
Season Tickets: $12.00--$10.00--$8.SO--$7.00--$6.00
Chamber Arts Series
Thursday, October 10
Friday, November 1
(2:30) Sunday, November 17
Thursday, February 20
Friday, April 3
Kimio Eto, Kotoist, with Suzushi Hanayagi
and assisting musicians.....
Moscow Chamber Orchestra
Julian Bream Consort.....
Sestetto Italiano Luca Merenzio . Zurich Chamber Orchestra Korean Dancers and Musicians Orchestra San Pietro of Naples
?Season Tickets: $14.00--$12.00--$10.00
Annual Christmas Concerts
Sunday, October 13 Wednesday, November 13 Tuesday, November 26 Tuesday, December 10 Saturday, January 25 Sunday, February 9 Thursday, March 19
Messiah (Handel) (Two performances) .
Saturday, December (2:30) Sunday, December
Festivals
Chamber Dance Festival Makina Svetlova Dance Ensemble . Shanta Rao and Dancers and Musicians
from South India.....
Hungarian Ballets Bihari--Kovach and
Rabovsky with gypsy musicians Chamber Music Festival (three concerts)
New York Pro Musica, Noah Greenberg, Director Ann Arbor May Festival (1964) (six concerts) . . April 30, May 1, 2, 3 The Philadelphia Orchestra, Eugene Ormandy, Conductor; guest conductors and soloists
Orders accepted beginning May 1 for these series
For tickets and information, address UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY, Burton Tower
Friday, October 25
Saturday, October 26
(2:30) Sunday, October 27
February 14, 15, (2:30) 16

Download PDF