Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, July 25, 1966: Grant Johannesen --

UMS Concert Program, July 25, 1966: Grant Johannesen --  image UMS Concert Program, July 25, 1966: Grant Johannesen --  image
Day
25
Month
July
Year
1966
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: Eighty-eighth
Concert: Fourth
Complete Series: 3522
Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

1966 Eighty-eighth Season 1967
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN Charles A. Sink, President
Gail W. Rector, Executive Director Lester McCoy, Conductor
Fourth Concert
Third Annual Summer Concert Series
Complete Series 3S22
GRANT JOHANNESEN
Pianist
Monday Evening, July 25, 1966, at 8:30 Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Sonata No. 3 in B-flat
Massig bewegt Sehr lebhaft Massig schnell Fuge: lebhaft
Gaspard de la nuit
Ondine Le Gibet Scarbo
HiNDEMITH
Ravel
INTERMISSION
Les Preludes, Op. 28 C major--Agitato A minor--Lento G major--Vivace E minor--Largo D major--Molto allegro B minor--Lento assai A major--Andantino F-sharp minor--Molto agitato E major--Largo C-sharp minor--Molto allegro B major--Vivace G-sharp minor--Presto
Chopin
F-sharp major--Lento
E-flat minor--Allegro
D-flat major--Sostenuto
B-flat minor--Presto con fuoco
A-flat major--Allegretto
F minor--Molto allegro
E-flat major--Vivace
C minor--Largo
B-flat major--Cantabile
G minor--Molto agitato
F major--Moderato
D minor--Allegro appassionato
Golden Crest, Capitol, Columbia, and Vox Records
Steinway Piano
A R S
L 0 N G A
VITA
B R E V I S
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY INTERNATIONAL PRESENTATIONS--1966-1967
Note: All programs begin at 8:30 p.m. unless otherwise indicated.
CHORAL UNION SERIES
Chicago Symphony Orchestra.......Saturday, October 8
Guiomar Novaes, Pianist........Wednesday, October 12
Toronto Symphony Orchestra......Thursday, November 3
American Ballet Theatre........Thursday, November 17
"The Consul" (Menotti) N.Y. City Opera . . (8:00) Sunday, November 20
Detroit Symphony Orchestra......(2:30) Sunday, January S
Winnipeg Ballet Company........Saturday, February 4
Shirley Verrett, Mezzo-soprano.......Monday, March 13
Stockholm University Chorus.......Thursday, April 6
Boston Symphony Orchestra........Saturday, April 8
Season Tickets: $2S.0O -$20.00 -$17.00 -$14.00 -$12.00
EXTRA SERIES
Chicago Symphony Orchestra......(2:30) Sunday, October 9
Emil Gilels, Pianist.........Tuesday, November 8
"Tosca" (Puccini) N.Y. City Opera .... (2:30) Sunday, November 20
Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra .... (2:30) Sunday, February 26
Jose Greco and Spanish Dance Company .... Wednesday, March 8
Season Tickets: $12.50 --$10.00 --$8.50 --$7.00 --$6.00
CHAMBER ARTS SERIES
Chamber Symphony of Philadelphia .... Saturday, September 24
?Moscow Chamber Orchestra.......Saturday, October 22
Christian Ferras, Violinist........Monday, November 14
Music from Marlboro.........Monday, January 30
?Andres Segovia, Guitarist........Tuesday, February 28
Jacqueline Du Pre, Cellist; Stephen Bishop, Pianist . . Monday, March 20
Boston Symphony Chamber Players .... (2:30) Sunday, April 9
Season Tickets: $18.00(out) --$15.00 --$12.00
A second concert scheduled: Sunday,October 23 (Moscow); and Wednesday,March 1 (Segovia).
TICKETS FOR SINGLE PERFORMANCES IN THE ABOVE 3 SERIES: Advance orders will be filled in sequence beginning September 1 from remaining tickets. Counter sale begins September 10.
Brochures, with complete list of presentations for next season, will be available about August 1. For tickets and information, address
THE UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY, Burton Tower

Download PDF