Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, April 23, 1968: Seventy-fifth May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra

UMS Concert Program, April 23, 1968: Seventy-fifth May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image UMS Concert Program, April 23, 1968: Seventy-fifth May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image
Day
23
Month
April
Year
1968
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: Eighty-ninth
Concert: Fifth
Complete Series: 3618
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

1967 Eighty-ninth Season 1968
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Charles A. Sink, President Gail W. Rector, Executive Director Lester McCoy, Conductor
Fifth Concert Complete Series 3618
Seventy-fifth
MAY FESTIVAL
THE PHILADELPHIA ORCHESTRA EUGENE ORMANDY, Conductor
SOLOIST
EILEEN FARRELL, Soprano
Tuesday Evening, April 23, 1968, at 8:30 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Symphony No. 41 in C major, K. SSI ("Jupiter") . . . Mozart
Allegro vivace Andante cantabile Menuetto Finale: allegro molto
"Pace, pace, mio Dio!" from La forza del destino . . . Verdi
"Ritorna vincitor" from A'ida.........Verdi
Eileen Farreix
intermission
"Paganiniana," Divertimento for Orchestra, Op. 65 . . Casella
Allegro agitato Polacchetta Romanza Tarantella
"Voi lo sapete" from Cavalleria rusticana..... Mascagni
"Un bel di vedremo" from Madama Butterfly .... Puccini
"Vissi d'arte" from Tosca......... Puccini
Miss Farreix
Waltzes from Der Rosenkavalier.......Strauss
Columbia Records
The Sleinviay is the official piano of the University Musical Society. The Baldwin Piano is the official piano of the Philadelphia Orchestra.
ARS LONGA VITA BREVIS
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
INTERNATIONAL PRESENTATIONS--1968-69
SUMMER CONCERT SERIES-!968
Four Piano Recitals In Rackham Auditorium
Alicia de Laekocha........... June 27
Vladimir Ashkenazy........... July 10
David Bar-Illan............ July 16
Jorge Bolet.............. July 22
Series Tickets: $12.00--$8.00--$6.00 Single Concerts: $5.00--$4.00--$2.00
CHORAL UNION SERIES
In Hill Auditorium Chicago Symphony Orchestra.....Saturday, October 5
Istvan Kertesz, Conductor
Gary Graffman, Pianist.......Monday, October 14
Bavarian Orchestra of Munich.....Saturday, October 26
Rafael Kubelik, Conductor
Birgit Nilsson, Soprano......Thursday, November 14
Yehudi Menuhin, Violinist, and
Hephzibah Menuhin, Pianist . . (2:30) Sunday, November 24
Gregg Smith Singers......(2:30) Sunday, January 12
Hague Philharmonic........Friday, January 24
Whxem Van Otterloo, Conductor "Carmen" (Goldovsky Opera Company) . (8:00) Saturday, February IS
Rudolf Serkin, Pianist.......Wednesday, March 5
Moscow State Symphony.......Thursday, March 13
Evgeni Svetlanov, Conductor
Season Tickets: $30.00--$25.00--$20.00--$15.00--$12.00
DANCE SERIES
In Hill Auditorium National Ballet (from Washington, D.C.) . . . Friday, October 11
Romanian Folk Ballet.......Thursday, October 24
Mazowsze Dance Company (from Poland) . . Monday, November 18
Alvtn Ailey American Dance Theatre . . . Saturday, February 8
Ballet Folklorico of Mexico .... Wednesday, February 26
Season Tickets: $15.00--$12.50--$10.00--$7.50--$6.00
CHAMBER ARTS SERIES
In Rackham Auditorium
Madrigalisti di Venezia.......Sunday, October 20
Melos Ensemble, from London .... Thursday, November 7 Janet Baker, English Mezzo-Soprano .... Sunday, January 5
Music from Marlboro.......Saturday, February 1
Israel Chamber Orchestra......Monday, February 10
Cologne Chamber Orchestra.....Saturday, February 22
Orchestra Michelangelo di Firenze .... Sunday, March 23
Season Tickets: $20.00--$15.00--$10.00 Programs begin at 8:30 p.m. unless otherwise indicated.
THE UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY, Burton Tower Ann Arbor, Michigan 48104
(Hours: Mon.-Fri., 9 to 4:00; Sat., 9 to 12 a.m.) Telephone: 665-3717

Download PDF