Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, April 24, 1969: The Ann Arbor May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra

UMS Concert Program, April 24, 1969: The Ann Arbor May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image UMS Concert Program, April 24, 1969: The Ann Arbor May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image
Day
24
Month
April
Year
1969
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Concert: First
Complete Series: 3650
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

The University Musical Society
of
The University of Michigan
Presents
ANN ARBOR
THE PHILADELPHIA ORCHESTRA EUGENE ORMANDY, Conductor
SOLOIST
RICHARD TUCKER, Tenor
Thursday Evening, April 24, 1969, at 8:30 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
?"Classical" Symphony in D major, Op. 25......Prokofiev
Allegro Larghetto
Gavotte: non troppo allegro Finale: molto vivace
Concert aria and recitative,
"Misero! o sogno, o son desto" (K. 431)......Mozart
Recitative and aria, "Sound an Alarm," from Judas Maccabaeus . . Handel
Richard Tucker
"Iberia" ("Images" for Orchestra) No. 2.......Debussy
In the Streets and Byways
Perfumes of the Night
The Morning of a FeastDay
INTERMISSION
"0 Paradiso" from L'Ajricaine.........Meyerbeer
"No! pazzo son! guardate" from Manon Lescaut.....Puccini
Mr. Tucker
?Symphonic Poem, "The Pines of Rome".......Respighi
The Pines of the Villa Borghese The Pines near the Catacombs The Pines of the Janiculum The Pines of the Appian Way
? Available on Columbia Records
The Steinway is the official piano of the University Musical Society. The Baldwin Piano is the official piano of the Philadelphia Orchestra.
First Concert 76th Annual May Festival Complete Programs 3650
1969 --INTERNATIONAL PRESENTATIONS --1970
CHORAL UNION SERIES
In Hill Auditorium
NEW YORK PHILHARMONIC.....2:30, Sunday, September 21
Seiji Ozawa, Conducting
Andre Watts, Pianist (Rachmaninoff Concerto No. 3)
MISHA DICHTER, Pianist........Monday, October 6
ORCHESTRA OF L'ACCADEMIA
DI SANTA CECILIA, Rome......Thursday, October 23
Fernando Previtali, Conducting
ROYAL CHORAL SOCIETY AND PLAYERS . . Tuesday, November 4 OSIPOV BALALAIKA ORCHESTRA (with stars of the
Bolshoi Opera and Russian Dancers) . . . Thursday, November 13 NHK SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA, Japan . . . Tuesday, November 25
Hiroytjki Iwaki, Conducting JOAN SUTHERLAND, Soprano, with
RICHARD BONYNGE, Pianist.....Friday, January 30
VLADIMIR ASHKENAZY, Pianist......Monday, February 9
"BARBER OF SEVILLE" (Rossini)--
Canadian Opera Company......Saturday, February 14
ANDRES SEGOVIA, Classical Guitarist .... Thursday, February 19 Season Tickets: $35.00--$30.00--$25.00--$20.00--$15.00
DANCE SERIES
In Hill Auditorium
NATIONAL BALLET OF CANADA.....Friday, October 17
JOSE LIMON DANCE COMPANY.....Saturday, November 1
?NIKOLAIS DANCE COMPANY.....Wednesday, January 21
DANZAS VENEZUELA........Tuesday, February 17
AMERICAN BALLET THEATRE......Tuesday, March 17
For these two modern Dance Companies, Lecturedemonstrations will be scheduled and announced at a later date. Season ticket subscribers to the Dance Series will receive complimentary admission.
Season Tickets: $17.50--$15.00--$12.50--$10.00
CHAMBER ARTS SERIES
In Rackham Auditorium
MADRIGAL, from Bucharest........Sunday, October 12
Marin Constantin, Conductor
PRAGUE CHAMBER ORCHESTRA.....Monday, November 10
FRANCO GULLI, Violinist, and
ENRICA CAVALLO, Pianist (due from Italy) . Monday, November 17
NEW YORK PRO MUSICA.......Monday, January 12
MUSIC FROM MARLBORO.......Wednesday, January 28
JEANPIERRE RAMPAL, Flute, and
ROBERT VEYRONLACROIX, Keyboard . Thursday, February 5 PHAKAVALI DANCERS, from Bangkok.....Monday, March 2
Season Tickets: $25.00--$20.00--$12.00 Orders for season tickets for all series now accepted.
SUMMER CONCERT SERIES (Four piano recitals)--July 8, 17, 23 and 28. Performers and programs to be announced June 1, when ticket sale begins. Series tickets: $12.00, $8.00, $6.00. Single concerts: $5.00, $4.00, $2.00.
All programs begin at 8:30 P.M. unless otherwise indicated.
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
BURTON MEMORIAL TOWER, ANN ARBOR, MICHIGAN 48104

Download PDF