Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, April 25, 1969: The Ann Arbor May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra

UMS Concert Program, April 25, 1969: The Ann Arbor May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image UMS Concert Program, April 25, 1969: The Ann Arbor May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image
Day
25
Month
April
Year
1969
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Concert: Second
Complete Series: 3651
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

The University Musical Society
of
The University of Michigan
Presents
ANN ARBOR
THE PHILADELPHIA ORCHESTRA
THE UNIVERSITY CHORAL UNION
THOR JOHNSON, Conductor
SOLOISTS
JOANNA SIMON, MezzoSoprano HANS RICHTERHAASER, Pianist
Friday Evening, April 25, 1969, at 8:30 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Psalm 150, Op. 5, for Mixed Chorus and Orchestra
University Choral Union
Pantasilea's aria from Bomarzo
Joanna Simon
"Fern Hill" for Mixed Chorus, Mezzosoprano and Orchestra University Choral Union and Joanna Simon
Choral Union Quartet
Doris Kraushaar, Soprano Gerald Leckrone, Tenor Jane Green, Alto Charles Burr, Bass
INTERMISSION
Concerto No. 1 in E minor for Piano and Orchestra, Op. 11 Allegro maestoso Romanze; larghetto Rondo: vivace
Hans RichterHaaser
The Steinway is the official piano of the University Musical Society. The Baldwin Piano is the official piano of the Philadelphia Orchestra.
GlNASTERA
GlNASTERA
CORIGLIANO
Chopin
Second Concert
76th Annual May Festival
Complete Programs 3651
1969 --INTERNATIONAL PRESENTATIONS --1970
CHORAL UNION SERIES
In Hill Auditorium
NEW YORK PHILHARMONIC.....2:30, Sunday, September 21
Seiji Ozawa, Conducting
Andre Watts, Pianist (Rachmaninoff Concerto No. 3)
MISHA DICHTER, Pianist........Monday, October 6
ORCHESTRA OF L'ACCADEMIA
DI SANTA CECILIA, Rome......Thursday, October 23
Fernando Previtali, Conducting
ROYAL CHORAL SOCIETY AND PLAYERS . . Tuesday, November 4 OSIPOV BALALAIKA ORCHESTRA (with stars of the
Bolshoi Opera and Russian Dancers) . . . Thursday, November 13
NHK SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA, Japan . . . Tuesday, November 25
Hiroyuki Iwaki, Conducting JOAN SUTHERLAND, Soprano, with
RICHARD BONYNGE, Pianist.....Friday, January 30
VLADIMIR ASHKENAZY, Pianist......Monday, February 9
"BARBER OF SEVILLE" (Rossini)--
Canadian Opera Company......Saturday, February 14
ANDRES SEGOVIA, Classical Guitarist .... Thursday, February 19 Season Tickets: $35.00--$30.00--$25.00--$20.00--$15.00
DANCE SERIES
In Hill Auditorium
NATIONAL BALLET OF CANADA.....Friday, October 17
JOSE LIMON DANCE COMPANY.....Saturday, November 1
?NIKOLAIS DANCE COMPANY.....Wednesday, January 21
DANZAS VENEZUELA........Tuesday, February 17
AMERICAN BALLET THEATRE......Tuesday, March 17
For these two modern Dance Companies, Lecturedemonstrations will be scheduled and announced at a later date. Season ticket subscribers to the Dance Scries will receive complimentary admission.
Season Tickets: $17.50--$15.00--$12.50--$10.00
CHAMBER ARTS SERIES
In Rackham Auditorium
MADRIGAL, from Bucharest........Sunday, October 12
Marin Constant?, Conductor
PRAGUE CHAMBER ORCHESTRA.....Monday, November 10
FRANCO GULLI, Violinist, and
ENRICA CAVALLO, Pianist (due from Italy) . Monday, November 17
NEW YORK PRO MUSIC A.......Monday, January 12
MUSIC FROM MARLBORO.......Wednesday, January 28
JEANPIERRE RAMPAL, Flute, and
ROBERT VEYRONLACROIX, Keyboard . Thursday, February 5
PHAKAVALI DANCERS, from Bangkok.....Monday, March 2
Season Tickets: $25.00--$20.00--$12.00 Orders for season tickets for all series now accepted.
SUMMER CONCERT SERIES (Four piano recitals)--July 8, 17, 23 and 28. Performers and programs to be announced June 1, when ticket sale begins. Series tickets: $12.00, $8.00, $6.00. Single concerts: $5.00, $4.00, $2.00.
All programs begin at 8:30 P.M. unless otherwise indicated.
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
BURTON MEMORIAL TOWER, ANN ARBOR, MICHIGAN 48104

Download PDF