Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, July 23, 1969: Alexis Weissenberg --

UMS Concert Program, July 23, 1969: Alexis Weissenberg --  image UMS Concert Program, July 23, 1969: Alexis Weissenberg --  image
Day
23
Month
July
Year
1969
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Concert: Third
Complete Series: 3657
Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

The llnive
The
I
Presents
ALEXIS WEISSENBERG
Pianist
Wednesday Evening, July 23, 1969, at 8:30 Rackham Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Chromatic Fantasy and Fugue in D minor
Etudes symphoniques, Op. 13......
(including five posthumous etudes)
J. S. Bach Schumann
INTERMISSION
Le Tombeau de Couperin
Prelude
Fugue
Forlane
Rigaudon
Menuet
Toccata
Ravel
Two Preludes ....
Op. 23, No. 10, in Gflat major Op. 32, No. 13, in Dflat major
Rachmaninoff
Slcinway Piano
RCA and Angel Records
Third Concert
Sixth Annual Summer Concert Series
Complete Programs 3657
1969 -INTERNATIONAL PRESENTATIONS -1970
GYORGY SANDOR, internationally acclaimed pianist, will present the following program, Monday,
July 28, at 8:30, in the fourth and final concert of the Summer Seriies:
Three Sonatas...............Scarlatti
Sonata in G major, K. 283............Mozart
Sonata No. 7...............Prokofeeff
Dance Suite (1923)..............Bartok
Etude in Bflat minor............Szymanowski
Etude in F major.............Mendelssohn
Etude in Dsharp minor.............Scriabin
Mephisto Waltz................Liszt
Choral Union Series
Hill Auditorium
NEW YORK PHILHARMONIC.......2:30, Sunday, September 21
Seiji Ozawa, Conducting
Andre Watts, Pianist (Rachmaninoff Concerto No. 3)
MISHA DICHTER, Pianist..........Monday, October 6
ORCHESTRA OF L'ACCADEMIA
DI SANTA CECILIA, Rome........Thursday, October 23
Fernando Frevitali, Conducting
ROYAL CHORAL SOCIETY AND PLAYERS .... Tuesday, November 4 OSIPOV BALALAIKA ORCHESTRA (with stars of the
Bolshoi Opera and Russian Dancers)......Thursday, November 13
NHK SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA, JAPAN.....Tuesday, November 25
Hiroyuki Iwaki, Conducting JOAN SUTHERLAND, Soprano, with
RICHARD BONYNGE, Pianist.......Friday, January 30
VLADIMIR ASHKENAZY, Pianist........Monday, February 9
"BARBER OF SEVILLE" (Rossini)--
Canadian Opera Company........Saturday, February 14
ANDRES SEGOVIA, Classical Guitarist......Thursday, February 19
Season Tickets: $35.00--$30.00--$25.00--$20.00--$15.00
Dance Series
Hill Auditorium
NATIONAL BALLET OF CANADA........Friday, October 17
JOSE LIMON DANCE COMPANY.......Saturday, November 1
?NIKOLAIS DANCE COMPANY........Wednesday, January 21
DANZAS VENEZUELA..........Tuesday, February 17
ROYAL WINNIPEG BALLET........2:30, Sunday, March IS
For these two modern Dance Companies, Lecturedemonstrations will be scheduled and announced at a later date. Season ticket subscribers to the Dance Series will receive complimentary admission.
Season Tickets: $17.50--$15.00--$12.50--$10.00
Chamber Art Series
Rackham Auditorium
MADRIGAL, from Bucharest..........Sunday, October 12
Marin Constant?, Conductor
PRAGUE CHAMBER ORCHESTRA.......Monday, November 10
FRANCO GULLI, Violinist, and
ENRICA CAVALLO, Pianist (duo from Italy) . . . Monday, November 17
NEW YORK PRO MUSICA..........Monday, January 12
MUSIC FROM MARLBORO.........Wednesday, January 28
JEANPIERRE RAMPAL, Flute, and
ROBERT VEYRONLACROIX, Keyboard .... Thursday, February 5 PHAKAVALI DANCERS, from Bangkok.......Monday, March 2
Season Tickets: $25.00--$20.00--$12.00
Orders for single performances (all 3 series) will be accepted beginning August 15. Counter sale begins September 10.
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
BURTON MEMORIAL TOWER, ANN ARBOR, MICHIGAN 48104

Download PDF