Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, March 19, 1978: Baltimore Symphony Orchestra --

Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Concert: Eighth
Complete Series: 4114
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

The University Musical Society
The University of Michigan
Baltimore Symphony Orchestra
SERGIU COMISSIONA, Music Director and Conductor ALBERT MARKOV, Violinist
Sunday Evening, March 19, 1978, at 8:30 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
Scherzo Capriccioso, Op. 66...........Dvorak
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra........Khachaturian
Allegro deciso
Andante sostenuto; allegro; andante Allegro vivace
Albert Markov
Hary Janos Suite..............Kodaly
Prelude, Fairy Tale Begins
Viennese Musical Clock
Battle and Defeat of Napoleon
Entrance of the Emperor and His Court
Cimbalom solo played by Toni Koves Steiner
Vox, Columbia, and Desto Records. Eighth Concert Ninetyninth Annual Choral Union Series Complete Programs 4114
Sergiii Comissiona has enjoyed a sure and steady rise in his career since winning a top prize in the international conducting competition at Besancon, France. He became music director of the Haifa (Israel) Symphony Orchestra, and gradually invitations came to guest conduct the London Philharmonic and other prestigious orchestras. After two years as music director of the Goteborg (Sweden) Symphony, the Rumanianborn conductor became music director of the Baltimore Symphony, where his duties also include extensive involvement in the Chautauqua Festival and the Temple University Music Festival. Under Mr. Comissiona's expert direction, the Baltimore Symphony has become recognized nationally as one of the top orchestras in the United States.
Albert Markov only recently started a new life and career in the United States when he and his family, all musicians, emigrated from the Soviet Union in December, 197S. Renowned as both performer and teacher in his own country, he was an official soloist of the Moscow State Phil?harmonic, along with other violinists including David Oistrakh and Leonid Kogan. Virtually unknown to Western audiences, he is now concertizing in recital and as soloist with major orchestras in the United States, Mexico, and the Far East. Mr. Markov also serves on the faculty of the Mannes College of Music in New York City, where he resides.
Philippe Entremont, Pianist
(replacing Lazar Berman, originally scheduled last November)
Saturday, April 1, at 8:30 in Hill Auditorium
Music of Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Ravel
All tickets for the Berman recital will be honored on April 1; additional tickets are available from $4 to $10.
Fourth Annual Benefit Concert and Reception
for the University Musical Society and School of Music
Jessye Norman, Soprano
The University Symphony Orchestra
GUSTAV MEIER, Conductor Friday, April 7, at 8:30, in Hill Auditorium
Between leading roles at Deutsche Oper Berlin, La Scala, the Bayreuth Festival, and Covent Garden, and concert appearances throughout Europe and the Americas, this former UM student returns to Ann Arbor to generously donate her artistry for these two musical organizations. Her predecessors in this worthy endeavor have been Mstislav Rostropovich, Yehudi Menuhin, Gyorgy Sandor, and Eugene Ormandy.
Miss Norman performs with the exceptionally fine University Symphony Orchestra, a 100member group designated by Maestro Ormandy as "his junior Philadelphia Orchestra."
Mozart: Overture to The Abduction from the Seraglio
Mozart: Concert Aria: "Ch'io mi scordi di te," K. 505
Stravinsky: Firebird Suite
Wagner: Overture to The Flying Dutchman
Wagner: Prelude and LoveDeath from Tristan and Isolde
Concert tickets: Main floor, $8; First Balcony, $7; Second Balcony, $6 and $4; $25 includes a main floor seat and a reception after the concert to meet the artists.
Burton Memorial Tower, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109 Phones: 6653717, 7642538

Download PDF