Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, December 8, 1981: International Presentations Of Music & Dance -- Vienna Chamber Orchestra

Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: 103rd
Concert: Twenty-ninth
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Vienna Chamber Orchestra
Conductor and Pianist
Tuesday Evening, December 8, 1981, at 8:30 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
Compositions of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Divertimento in D major, K. 136
Allegro Andante Presto
Concerto No. 9 in E-flat major, K. 271, for Piano and Orchestra
Allegro Andantino
Rondeau: presto
Philippe Entremont
Symphony No. 29 in A major, K. 201
Allegro moderato Andante Menuetto
Allegro con spirito
Mr. Entremont: Columbia Records.
Vienna Chamber Orchestra: Columbia and Telefunken Records.
Twenty-ninth Concert of the 103rd Season 103rd Annual Choral Union Series
About the Artists
In its three decades of existence, the Vienna Chamber Orchestra has won world-wide praise for its impeccable and stylish performances of the works of Haydn and Mozart. It has attracted the most illustrious names in music to appear as soloists and conductors--from Casadesus, Francescatti, and Fischer-Dieskau to Boulez and Britten. Since Philippe Entremont's appointment as Music Director in 1976, the ensemble has performed to enthusiastic audiences in Germany, Yugoslavia, Switzerland, Spain, France, Belgium, lapan, and its native Austria, as well as at the major European music festivals. On its American tours it has performed in the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C. and at New York's Lincoln Center. In addition to their busy performance schedule, the Vienna Chamber Orchestra and Maestro Entremont have just completed two Mozart recordings, which include the Symphony No. 29, heard tonight. The ensemble makes its Ann Arbor debut with this evening's performance.
One of the foremost musicians of his native France, Philippe Entremont has won great acclaim for more than two decades as a concert pianist and, in the last fourteen years, as a conductor. Ann Arbor audiences have heard him four times as a recitalist and in the 1964 May Festival; this evening he appears for the first time as a conductor, as part of the Vienna Chamber Orchestra's third American tour. Mr. Entremont is also Music Director of the New Orleans Philharmonic, and in this, his second season with that group, leads a tour culminating in a concert next month in Carnegie Hall. In October of 1982 Mr. Entremont will take the New Orleans Philharmonic to Europe in a debut tour to more than seventeen cities, including Paris and Vienna. Still, the artist finds time for guest appearances this season with orchestras, among them those of San Francisco and St. Louis, debuts as conductorsoloist with the Minnesota Orchestra, and is performing more than a dozen recitals in North America.
Mr. Entremont has performed as piano soloist with most of the major orchestras of the world, his tours taking him to five continents for performances with symphony orchestras and recitals. He has led such orchestras as the Royal Philharmonic, Orchestre National de France, Oslo Philharmonic, Vienna Symphony Orchestra, Warsaw Philharmonic, and the Academy of St. Martin in the Fields. In this country he has guest-conducted the symphonies of San Francisco, Detroit, Houston, New York's Mostly Mozart Orchestra, and in July 1980 debuted as guest conductor of The Philadelphia Orchestra at Robin Hood Dell. Mr. Entremont is the former President of the Ravel Academy in St. Jean-de-Luz, and is the recipient of many honors, including the Grand Prix du Disque (four times), the Netherlands Edison Award, and is a Knight of the Legion d'Honneur.
Announcing: May Festival, 1982 Wednesday-Saturday, April 28, 29, 30, May 1, in Hill Auditorium
The Philadelphia Orchestra The University Choral Union
Eugene Ormandy, Conductor Laureate Aldo Ceccato, Guest Conductor
Yo-Yo Ma, Cellist Sherrill Milnes, Baritone
Bella Davidovich, Pianist Louise Russell, Soprano
Susan Starr, Pianist Lorna Myers, Mezzo-soprano
Henry Price, Tenor
Wednesday--Ormandy and Ma: Sibelius: Symphony No. 7; Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No. 1; Brahms: Symphony No. 2.
Thursday--Ceccato and Starr: Bernstein: Symphony No. 2 for Piano and Orchestra "The Age of Anxiety"; Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 ("Pathetique").
Friday--Ceccato, Choral Union, Milnes, Russell, Myers, Price: Mendelssohn: "Elijah."
Saturday--Ormandy and Davidovich: Beethoven: "Egmont" Overture; Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 1, Symphony No. 2.
Series ticket orders now being accepted: $50, $40, $30, $20.
Burton Memorial Tower, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109 Phone: 665-3717, 764-2538

Download PDF