Press enter after choosing selection

Former editor picked to head historic group

Former editor picked to head historic group image
Parent Issue
Copyright Protected
Rights Held By
Donated by the Ann Arbor News. © The Ann Arbor News.
OCR Text

Former editor picked to head historic group

Arthur GaIlagher, former editor of The Ann Arbor News, was recently re-elected president of the Ann Arbor Historical Foundation at the group’s annual meeting.

During the past year, a “Friends of the Foundation” organization was established and a reception, for members held at historic Kempf House downtown.

The foundation made it possible for the city’s Historic District Commission to restore the century-old Steinway opera grand piano, which is the first step in a restoration program for the Kempf House museum.

OTHER PROJECTS supported by the foundation were the city’s Historic Architectural Survey; the publication of “Ann Arbor Alive: The Ecology of a City,” written by students in the University of Michigan’s School of Natural Resources; and preservation of the Michigan Theatre.

Elected to serve on the foundation’s executive committee with Gallagher are Sam Breck Jr., vice president; Ruth Pickl, treasurer; Terri Bartholomew, secretary; and Marjorie Reade, member-at-large

Additional members elected to the foundation board are Patricia Austin, Betty Bassett, Rosemarion Blake, Mary Blaske, Barbara Carr, Joyce Chesbrough, Douglas Crary, Mary Hathway, Stuart Hilbert, Raleigh Morgan Jr., Allison Myers, Lowell Peterson, Nicholas Prakken, James Riecker, Raymond Spokes, Terry Sprenkel, Margaret Towsley and Frank Wilhelme.