Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, May 6, 1965: Seventy-second Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra

UMS Concert Program, May 6, 1965: Seventy-second Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image UMS Concert Program, May 6, 1965: Seventy-second Annual May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image
Day
6
Month
May
Year
1965
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Season: Eighty-sixth
Concert: First
Complete Series: 3470
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

1964 Eighty-sixth Season 1965
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Charles A. Sink, President Gail W. Rector, Executive Director Lester McCoy, Conductor
First Concert Complete Series 3470
Seventy-second Annual
MAY FESTIVAL
THE PHILADELPHIA ORCHESTRA EUGENE ORMANDY, Conductor
SOLOIST
LEONTYNE PRICE, Soprano
Thursday Evening, May 6, 1965, at 8:30 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM Overture to Der Freisckiitz.........Weber
Symphony No. 4 in B-flat major, Op. 60 .... Beethoven Adagio; allegro vivace Adagio
Allegro vivace
Allegro ma non troppo
Concert aria: "Bella mia fiamma, addio".....Mozart
Leontyne Price
INTERMISSION
Recitative, "Sorta e la notte" and
Aria, "Ernani, involami" from Ernani.....Verdi
Miss Price
?Suite from "The Firebird"........Stravinsky
Introduction: The Firebird and her Dance
Dance of the Princesses
Infernal Dance of Kastchei
Berceuse
Finale
Columbia Records
The Steinway is the official piano of the University Musical Society. The Baldwin Piano is the official piano of the Philadelphia Orchestra.
The Charles A. Sink Collection of artist photographs is exhibited in the main floor lobbies throughout the May Festival.
ARS LONGA VITA BREVIS
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY INTERNATIONAL PRESENTATIONS-1965-1966
SUMMER CONCERT SERIES-1965
Gary Graffman, Pianist.......... Wednesday, July 7
Sidney Harth, Violinist.......... Tuesday, July 13
Philippe Entremont, Pianist......... Tuesday, July 20
William Doppmann, Pianist......... Monday, July 26
CHORAL UNION SERIES
Chicago Symphony Orchestra; John Browning, Pianist . Saturday, October 9
Yehudi Menuhin, Violinist.........Friday, October 15
Czech Philharmonic Orchestra.......Friday, October 29
Poznan Choir (from Poland)........Tuesday, November 2
Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra;
Mstislav Rostropovich, Cellist......Monday, November IS
Barber of Seville--New York City Opera.....Sunday, November 21
Grand Ballet Classique de France......Tuesday, November 23
Phyllis Curtin, Soprano.........Thursday, January 20
Monte Carlo National Orchestra; Michel Block, Pianist Saturday, February 26 National Ballet (Washington, D.C.).....(2:30) Sunday, March 27
EXTRA SERIES
Cleveland Orchestra.........Wednesday, October 20
Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra; Igor Oistrakh, Violinist Tuesday, November 16 Pagliacci and Cavalleria Rusticana--
New York City Opera.......(2:30) Sunday, November 21
Rumanian Folk Ballet........Wednesday, February 16
Rudolf Serkin, Pianist..........Monday, March 7
CHAMBER ARTS SERIES
Netherlands Chamber Orchestra......Monday, October 18
Rafael Puyana, Harpsichordist........Sunday, October 31
New York Pro Musica.........Friday, November 12
Hermann Prey, Baritone........Wednesday, February 2
Vienna Octet............Tuesday, March 1
I Solisti Veneti...........Wednesday, March 16
Chicago Little Symphony.........Thursday, March 31
ANNUAL CHRISTMAS CONCERTS
"Messiah" (Handel)--Three performances.....December 3, 4, 5
FESTIVALS
Chamber Dance Festival
Alba-Reyes Spanish Dance Company.....Friday, October 22
Paul Taylor Dance Company......Saturday, October 23
To be announced........(2:30) Sunday, October 24
Chamber Music Festival (Three concerts).....February 18, 19, 20
New York Chamber Soloists, including Adele Addison, Soprano; and Charles Bressler, Tenor
Ann Arbor May Festival (Six concerts).......May 5, 6, 7, 8
The Philadelphia Orchestra, Eugene Ormandy, Musical Director; guest conductors, and soloists
For tickets and information, address THE UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY, Burton Tower

Download PDF