Press enter after choosing selection

UMS Concert Program, May 2, 1971: The Ann Arbor May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra

UMS Concert Program, May 2, 1971: The Ann Arbor May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image UMS Concert Program, May 2, 1971: The Ann Arbor May Festival -- The Philadelphia Orchestra image
Day
2
Month
May
Year
1971
Download PDF
Rights Held By
University Musical Society
OCR Text

Concert: Fifth
Complete Series: 3727
Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan

The University Musical Society
of
The University of Michigan
Presents
ANN ARBOR
THE PHILADELPHIA ORCHESTRA EUGENE ORMANDY, Conductor
SOLOIST
ANDRfi WATTS, Pianist
Sunday Evening, May 2, 1971, at 8:30 Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan
PROGRAM
Passacaglia and Fugue in C minor..........Bach
(Transcribed for orchestra by Eugene Ormandy)
Variations on an Original Theme ("Enigma"), Op. 36.....Elgar
C.A.E. W.N.
H.D.S.P. Nimrod
R.B.T. DorabcllaIntermezzo
W.M.B. G.R.S.
R.P.A. B.G.N.
Ysobel X.X.X.--Romanza
Troyte E.D.U.--Finale
INTERMISSION
Concerto No. 2 in Bflat major for Piano and Orchestra, Op. 83 . . Brahms
Allegro non troppo Allegro appassionato Andante Allegretto grazioso
Andre Watts
Available on Columbia Records
May Festival Program Books on sale in the main lobby. Fifth Concert 78th Annual May Festival Complete Program 3727
ANDRE WATTS made his debut at the age of sixteen with the New York Philharmonic. His first appearance in Ann Arbor in September, 1969, was with the same orchestra, performing Rachmaninoff's Concerto No. 3. This young American pianist's career has been phenomenal, placing him among the most in demand of the world's young pianists. His early training began in Philadelphia, continued at Peabody in Baltimore as a student of Leon Fleisher.
INTERNATIONAL PRESENTATIONS --197172
CHORAL UNION SERIES
ARTURO BENEDETTI MICHELANGELI, Pianist . . Monday, October 4
NATHAN MILSTEIN, Violinist......Monday, November 8
SHIRLEY VERRETT, MezzoSoprano .... Thursday, November 18
CLEVELAND ORCHESTRA......Wednesday, December 8
ANDRES SEGOVIA, Guitarist.......Saturday, January 22
JACQUELINE DU PRE, Cellist.......Friday, February 11
PRAGUE SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA.....Sunday, February 27
BOSTON SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA.....Tuesday, March 14
VIENNA SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA .... 2:30, Sunday, March 19 MINNESOTA SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA.....Sunday, April 9
CHAMBER ARTS SERIES
PRO CANTIONE ANTIQUA from London .... Monday, October 11
SAAR CHAMBER ORCHESTRA......Tuesday, October 26
CONCENTUS MUSICUS from Vienna .... Saturday, November 6
PRAGUE STRING QUARTET......Tuesday, November 16
BERLIN OCTET...........Friday, January 28
OSCAR GHIGLIA, Guitar, and
FRANS BRUEGGEN, Recorder.....Wednesday, February 23
BOSTON SYMPHONY CHAMBER PLAYERS . . . Monday, March 13
EAST ASIAN SERIES
EDO FESTIVAL OF MUSIC AND PANTOMIME, from Japan Friday, October 29
P'ANSORI, music of legends from Korea.....Friday, February 25
SHANTUNG TRADITIONAL MUSIC, from China . . . Friday, April 7
INAUGURAL SERIES FOR THE POWER CENTER--(Choice of any four or eight)
MARCEL MARCEAU, French Mime......Friday, October IS
and Saturday, October 16
SIERRA LEONE NATIONAL DANCE CO. (Africa) . Saturday, October 30 ROYAL WINNIPEG BALLET COMPANY . . Wednesday, November 10
SWINGLE SINGERS from Paris......Friday, November 19
CHORICA DANCE THEATER (Athens) .... Saturday, November 20
and Sunday, November 21 NATIONAL BALLET OF WASHINGTON . . 3:00, Saturday, November 27
PARIS CHAMBER ORCHESTRA......Monday, January 17
and with Choral Union singers......Wednesday, January 19
HERMAN PREY, Baritone.......Thursday, February 17
JULIAN BREAM, Guitar and Lute......Wednesday, March 1
"ENTERTAINMENT FOR ELIZABETH".....Sunday, April 16
(New York Pro Musica)
UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY
BURTON MEMORIAL TOWER, ANN ARBOR, MICHIGAN 48104 (Phone 6653717)

Download PDF