Press enter after choosing selection

President's Message

President's Message image
LaVerne G. Howard
Rights Held By
Ypsilanti Historical Society
OCR Text

A Note from your President:

It was with deep regrets that we had to cancel our Annual Dinner. We were committed to have at least one hundred reservations but were unable to come close enough without taking a large financial loss.

Mike Miller spent a considerable amount of his time and his own money in his attempt to find a suitable place for this type of dinner. Churches and lodge halls are not too responsive to Sunday afternoon dinners.

Mike has suggested that a pot-luck dinner may be nice to have some time after the first of the year. This would include our whole membership. The Board of Directors will be discussing this matter which to me sounds like a good idea.

Please give a call or send a card to one of the Board members or to the office. Would like your opinions on the proposed pot-luck.

DON'T FORGET our CHRISTMAS OPEN HOUSE, December 13th from 1 to 5 P. The Board has promised us some great refreshments as they have in the past.

A lot of time, hard work and expense goes into decorating the house for this occasion. Every year we try to make it different.

The Festival of Lights Committee have lighted the two trees in from of the Museum and another ten thousand lights have been added to the park. Some of our own people have been working on this project and brings the Museum and our City closer together.

The MUSEUM will be open from 7 to 9 P.M., on December 17th and 18th to accommodate people that would be visiting the Festival of Lights Marge Gauntlett will have her store fully stocked.

Progress is slowly being made to get the Museum in number one shape. We have a great reputation that we have to maintain and improve on.

Thank you for your help in the past and looking forward to your help in the future.

Thanks to the Board Members that are going off the Board at this time; Robert LaRue; Marion Vorce and Michael Miller.

Welcome to the new Board members; Sharon Patterson; Jack Miller and Ernest Griffin.